Bulk Import - is automatically assigning encounters as approved

In which Wildbook did the issue occur? SHARKBOOK

I am an administrator, and the way I usually check what sharks I need to review is to see what has been uploaded since they will always be unapproved. However, when users are using the bulk import I have noticed that encounters are coming across as approved. This is disrupting my system entirely and risking that I don’t review new sharks.

Please can you check the bulk import to see if it marks the metadata status as approved?

Hi @Sarah_Aus_SpotaShark

This behavior is intentional and not a bug. Because the bulk import workflow is only accessible to authorized users, the encounters are uploaded as approved if the Encounter.state field is not set.

I need to talk to your team about re-evaluating this position about defaulting encounter uploads as approved. It really is problematic. Approved means that a human has processed it - and the fact that bulk uploads are coming through as approved is not ok.

Please can we discuss this one?

Hi @Sarah_Aus_SpotaShark

We’re not likely to change this as it would affect the behavior across all Wildbooks and there is a work around to uploading your bulk imports as unapproved. I should have clarified that in my earlier reply instead of assuming it was implicit in the doc I linked to. :sweat_smile:

If you add the field Encounter.state to your spreadsheet and enter the value for each encounter as “unapproved” your imported encounters will remain unapproved. When this field is excluded, the default is to assume they are approved. It’s important to enter “unapproved” in lower-case as this field is case-sensitive.

A full explanation of this field and others are in our docs. I recommend using Ctrl + F (or Cmd + F if on a Mac) when searching for specific field names and their descriptions on this page.