Public submitters can not see their encounters

In which Wildbook did the issue occur? Spot A Shark USA

What operating system were you using? (eg. MacOS 10.15.3) unknown

What web browser were you using? (eg. Chrome 79) unknown

What is your role on the site? (admin, researcher, etc) i am an admin reporting on community diver issue

What happened? the email that every submitter gets has a link in it that SHOULD take them to their encounter page. However, this does not happen . They only get to a page that asks them to provide a log in, which we do not give to our submitters. I did a test, and the same thing happened for me when I added a picture from a personal email account. I also tried entering the encoutner number into the search bar, but that did not work either.

What did you expect to happen? bwhen a submitter gets a link, it should take them to their shark record

What are some steps we could take to reproduce the issue? up load a test picture and try the link in the email you get. Don;t use an admin email address of course!

If this is a bulk import report, send the spreadsheet to services@wildme.org with the email subject line matching your bug report

Hi @Carol

Thanks for your feedback. This question was answered recently: Seeing my submission without having an account

In short, encounters do require an account to be viewed but individual pages are public and can be viewed without an account. I’ll look into getting the email template updated to make that distinction clearer.

Using the link to the encounter ID also did not work for me or the diver that has been communicating with me. This used to work, but seems to not work now. I am not sure I explained it very well in my previous email. Happy to jump on a Zoom call to talk through it and share screen to show you if that’s helpful.